IND-WI 1st ODI highlights: Captain changed his strategy

The match of the IND-WI 1st ODI series was played at the Kensington Oval in Barbados. In which West Indies had to bank on losing the toss  and India decided to field first.

Image: ICC Twitter

Vice-captain Hardik Pandya took the first wicket in the match by catching Rohit Sharma. He ran out Kyle Mayers, he was dismissed for just 2 runs. And Alyque Athanaz also caught out by Jadeja. Alyque contributed 22 runs. Kuldeep took 4 wickets and Jadeja stopped the score from increasing by taking 3 wickets.

The audience had high hopes from the return of West Indies player Shimron Myer, but in IND-WI 1st ODI,he was bowled by Jadeja on 11 runs. However, captain Shai Hope contributed the most runs by scoring 43 runs. Romario Shepherd and Jayden Sills were dismissed for 0 runs.

Kuldeep Yadav is congratulated on social media for his excellent bowling.

Windies lowest score against India:

The West Indies team achieved a score of 114 runs. This is West Indies’ second lowest score against India. The team was all out after scoring 114 runs in 23 overs. Then in response, India won by scoring 118 runs at the loss of 5 wickets.

Rohit Sharma changed his strategy:

Image: ICC

Captain Rohit Sharma saw a change in strategy. Instead of opening himself, he gave a chance to Ishan Kishan and Shubman Gill. Not only this, he gave young players a chance to perform first. In the match, Ishaan contributed to the victory by scoring a fourth half-century of 52 runs on 46 balls. Then Gudakesh got out caught on the ball of Moti. Surya Kumar Yadav also scored 19 and Gill scored 7 runs. This is the 9th consecutive victory of the Indian team over the West Indies. Here, the interesting thing is that Kuldeep Yadav and Ravindra Jadeja became the first pair of Indian left arm spinners to take 7 wickets in ODIs. After this wonderful performance Kuldeep Yadav was declared the player of the match.

The second match between India and West Indies will be played at Bridgetown on Saturday.

 IND-WI ODI Schedule:

  • 1st match – July 27, Bridgetown, Barbados
  • 2nd match – July 29, Bridgetown, Barbados
  • 3rd match – August 1, Tarouba, Trinidad

IND vs WI ODI teams:

India –

  1. Rohit Sharma (Captain)
  2. Shubman Gill
  3. Virat Kohli
  4. Suryakumar Yadav
  5. Ishaan Kishan (wicketkeeper)
  6. Hardik Pandya
  7. Ravindra Jadeja
  8. Shardul Thakur
  9. Mukesh Kumar
  10. Kuldeep Yadav
  11. Umran Malik

West Indies –

  1. Brandon king
  2. Kyle Meyers
  3. Shai Hope (Captain)
  4. Shimron Meier
  5. Alyque Athanaz
  6. Rovman powell
  7. Romario Shepherd
  8. Dominic Drax
  9. Jayden seals
  10. Gudakesh Moti
  11. Oshane Thomas

Also Read: Ind vs WI ODI 2023

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *