World Test Champion Australia: Become 1st Team To Win All Major ICC Tournaments

India’s hopes of clinching their first-ever ICC title were dashed as they suffered a 209-run defeat against Australia in the World Test Championship (WTC) final at The Oval. Needing a monumental 444 runs for victory in the second innings, India fell short and was bowled out for 234, with Australia wrapping up the contest in the opening session of the final day. Now World Test Champion Australia Becomes 1st Team To Win All Major ICC Tournaments.

World Test Champion Australia

Highlights of Becoming World Test Champion Australia

From the outset, Australia dictated the proceedings, with Travis Head and Steve Smith both scoring centuries to propel Australia to a commanding total of 469 in the first innings. India’s top-order batsmen struggled to make an impact. Though a gritty 89 by Ajinkya Rahane, along with valuable contributions from Shardul Thakur and Ravindra Jadeja, helped India avoid the follow-on.

In the second innings, India showed glimpses of a comeback. But a crucial 93-run partnership between Alex Carey and Mitchell Starc propelled Australia to a declaration at 270/8. Chasing a daunting target of 444 runs, India ended Day 4 at 164/3, providing a glimmer of hope.

However, on the final day, Australia’s Scott Boland struck early, dismissing both Virat Kohli and Ravindra Jadeja in the same over. Kohli was caught at slips by Steve Smith for 49, while Jadeja was caught behind for a duck. Rahane fought valiantly, adding some runs before being removed by Mitchell Starc for 46. Shardul Thakur, who had scored a half-century in the first innings, failed to score a single run this time. As wickets continued to tumble, it was Nathan Lyon who delivered the final blow, sealing the match for Australia.

Despite their defeat, India showed resilience and fought hard throughout the match. The WTC final highlighted the dominance of the Australian team, who showcased their skills and experience to emerge as worthy champions.

World Test Champion Australia is the first team to ever win all ICC forms in cricket.

Australia became the first team in cricket history to win the ICC trophy in every format of the game with the WTC victory.

Australia wins the World Test Championship over India.

Aus defeated Ind by 209 runs to win the World Test tournament. Aus become the first team to ever win every ICC tournament in cricket history.

World Test Champion Australia

Kohli and Jadeja both fall in the same over.

Boland makes a caught-behind appeal against Kohli, but the umpire is not persuaded. The supporters are ecstatic when Cummins decides to do a review and UltraEdge finds there was no edge.

However, the celebration is short-lived since Boland fires both Ravindra Jadeja and Virat Kohli in the same over. Kohli tried to push a ball that was put wide of the off-stump. He is well caught by Steve Smith at slips. Kohli is dismissed at 49.

Then Jadeja is caught out on 0.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *